Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Organizational structure

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is organized under the authority of the RCMP Act. In accordance with the Act, it is headed by the Commissioner, who, under the direction of the Minister of Public Safety Canada, has the control and management of the Force and all matters connected therewith.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police enforces throughout Canada laws made by, or under, the authority of the Canadian Parliament. Administration of justice within the provinces, including enforcement of the Criminal Code, is part of the power and duty delegated to the provincial governments. The RCMP provides police services under the terms of policing agreements to all provinces (except Ontario and Quebec), Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, and under separate municipal policing agreements to 180 municipalities.

Organizational structure of the RCMP

The Force is divided into 15 Divisions, plus Headquarters, Ottawa. Each division is managed by a Commanding Officer and is alphabetically designated. Divisions roughly approximate provincial boundaries with their headquarters located in respective provincial or territorial capitals (except National Division, Ottawa; C, Montreal; O, London; and E, Vancouver). Air and Marine Services supply support to the divisions. RCMP Depot Division (Training Academy) is located in Regina, Saskatchewan, and the Canadian Police College is located in Ottawa, Ontario.

Actual strength

The on-strength establishment of the Force as of April 1, 2019:

  • Commissioner: 1
  • Deputy Commissioners: 5
  • Assistant Commissioners: 28
  • Chief Superintendents: 57
  • Superintendents: 187
  • Inspectors: 322
  • Corps Sergeant Major: 1
  • Sergeants Major: 8
  • Staff Sergeants Major: 9
  • Staff Sergeants: 838
  • Sergeants: 2,018
  • Corporals: 3,599
  • Constables: 11,913
  • Special Constables: 112
  • Public Service employees: 7,695
  • Civilian members: 3,403
  • Total: 30,196