Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Chief Firearms Officers

There is a Chief Firearms Officer for each Province and Territory. The Chief Firearms Officers are responsible for the decision-making and administrative work related to licences, authorizations to transport and authorizations to carry, and transfers of firearms by individuals and businesses.

This involves determining an applicant's eligibility and either issuing, refusing to issue, renewing or revoking the licence, authorization to transport, carry, transfer or sponsor. It also involves setting conditions on these documents.

The Chief Firearms Officers also designate instructors for the Canadian Firearms Safety Course and Canadian Restricted Firearms Safety Course.

Contact a Chief Firearms Officer

1-800-731-4000 (for Canada and the United States)

506-624-6626 (for all countries outside of Canada and the United States)

Province/Territory Address
Alberta and Northwest Territories

Chief Firearms Officer
701-10065 Jasper Avenue
Edmonton, AB
T5J 3B1

Mailing Address:
11140 109 Street NW
Edmonton, AB
T5G 2T4

Fax number: 780-495-7970

British Columbia and Yukon

Chief Firearms Officer
14200 Green Timbers Way
Mailstop #501
Surrey, BC
V3T 6P3

Fax: 778-290-6174

Manitoba and Nunavut

Chief Firearms Officer
Unit 1, 1680 Ellice Avenue
Winnipeg, MB
R3H 0Z2

Fax: 204-984-0670

New Brunswick

Chief Firearms Officer
Department of Justice and Public Safety
PO Box 6000
Fredericton, NB
E3B 5H1

Fax: 506-457-3521

Newfoundland and Labrador

Chief Firearms Officer
7 Pippy Place
P.O. Box 8218
St. John's, NL
A1B 3N4

Fax: 709-772-3202

Nova Scotia

Chief Firearms Officer
Public Safety and Security Division
P.O. Box 7
Halifax, NS
B3J 2L6

Fax: 902-424-4308


Chief Firearms Officer
Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services
50 Andrew Street South, Suite 201
Orillia, ON
L3V 7T5

Mailing Address:
777 Memorial Avenue
Orillia, ON
L3V 7V3

Fax number: 705-329-5623

Prince Edward Island

Chief Firearms Officer
Department of Environment, Labour and Justice
161 Maypoint Road
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE
C1A 7N8

Fax: 902-368-5198


Chief Firearms Officer
Sûreté du Québec
Bureau du contrôle des armes à feu et des explosifs
1701 Parthenais Street, Office 10.07
Montreal, QC
H2K 3S7

Fax: 514-496-4653 or 1-877-335-4653


Chief Firearms Officer
Room 310, 1783 Hamilton Street
Regina, SK
S4P 2B6

Fax: 306-780-7400